DURSA - Durham University Retired Staff Association

Annual General Meeting

Wednesday 29th June 2022

The meeting was held in the Garden Room at the Poplar Tree Garden Centre with 14 members present in person.

Minutes

68. Introduction

In the absence of a Chairman it was agreed that Keith Orford, who has previously held the office, would take the chair for the duration of the meeting.

69. Apologies for Absence

Apologies had been received from Mr Doloughan, Ms Goldstein, Dr Stewart and Professor Zakrzewski.

70. Minutes

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 23rd June 2021 were approved.

71. Matters arising from the Minutes

There were none.

72. Annual Report

Received: the following Annual Report

a. The Suspension of DURSA's Activities

In 2020 the AGM endorsed the decision to suspend DURSA's activities for twelve months, and it was agreed at the 2021 AGM that the Committee would decide when events should restart.

b. Acknowledgements

The Committee again wishes to record its gratitude for all the help received from the staff of DARO especially Mellissa Abdu for distributing circulars to members while she is working from home. We would also wish to thank Steph Osborne who was previously of great assistance.

c. The Committee

The composition of the Committee has been as elected at the Annual General Meeting in 2021. The Committee has met several times online and in-person

during the year with the Secretary convening the meetings as we are currently without a Chairman.

d. Membership

The current number of members is 531 (515 last year). There is one Honorary Member, Bill Bryson.

e. Accounts

At the last two AGMs it was reported that the accounts showed a satisfactory picture. There has been no income or expenditure in the past twenty-four months.

f. The 2021-22 Programme

The Committee agreed to resume Drop-Ins for Coffee in the Easter Term. It is hoped that a visit to the Business School will take place in July 2022.

g. The 2022-23 Programme and beyond

The Committee has previously been actively developing a programme of visits including:

- Spanish Gallery Auckland Project
- Nissan (repeat visit)
- The School of Modern Languages and Cultures.
- The Law Department
- The University Sports Centre
- The Police Headquarters (repeat visit)
- The Department of Earth Sciences (repeat visit)
- County Durham and Darlington Fire Service Training Centre In addition consideration would be given to running some of the cancelled events from the 2019-20 programme.

Looking further into the future the Committee has a list of other possible visits, namely:

- · South Shields Ferry. An evening cruise
- Palace Green Library (repeat visit)
- Oriental Museum (repeat visit)
- New University Buildings e.g. a new College/Teaching Block
- Bowes Museum
- PBSA (Private build student accommodation).
- Hartlepool Nuclear Power Station, Seaton Carew
- Spanish Gallery and Research Centre, Bishop Auckland
- HMS Calliope. Royal Navy Reserve Unit, Gateshead
- Cathedral specialist tour e.g. geology or architecture (repeat visit)

- JDR Cables, Hartlepool (repeat visit)
- 'Cherryburn'. Thomas Bewick Birthplace Museum

73. Accounts

The Treasurer reported that a credit of £558.77 was made to the DURSA account from funds held by Durham University at the end of July 2020, this being the balance of funds paid by members for various functions during the 2019/20 academic year. This balance has remained unchanged due to Covid 19, which has resulted in DURSA being unable to take part in any activities during the past two years.

She hoped that members can look forward to a better 2022/23 academic year when members are able to take part in activities and we will be able to increase funds accordingly.

74. To Amend The Constitution

Members agreed to amend section 3 of the Constitution to replace "Membership shall be open to all former staff who began to draw a University pension immediately upon retirement from the University" with "Membership shall be open to all staff who have retired from Durham University".

75. Membership of the Committee

Reported: that Mr Burman, Dr Orford and Dr Ross had reached the end of their term but were eligible to stand again.

Resolved: that, in the absence of other nominations the following, who had been duly proposed and seconded, be deemed elected.

To serve till 30 June 2025: Mr T. Burman, Dr K.J. Orford, Dr E.J.F. Ross

NOTE: The composition of the **Committee for 2022-23** is therefore as follows:

Elected until 30 June 2023

Mr T.C. Doloughan Mr F.W. Pritchard (Secretary) Ms S. Mavin

Elected until 30 June 2024

Mrs K. Fall (Treasurer) Dr A.M. Kenwright Mr J.R. White

Elected until 30 June 2025

Mr T. Burman Dr K.J. Orford Dr E.J.F. Ross

Noted: A Chairperson has not at this point been elected.

76. AOB

Visits

It was agreed to seek the views of members on the frequency of visits, and to encourage car-sharing where possible.

Francis Pritchard DURSA Secretary 7/10/22