Queen's New Year Honours 2018

The following alumni have been honoured in the Queen's New Year Honours for 2018.

Sir Graham S Brady Kt MP St Aidan's College, Law, 1989 For services to Economics and Public Policy

Mr Darrell G Buttery MBE St Cuthbert's Society, English Literature, 1964 For services to Heritage in York

Mrs Katharine E Carruthers OBE  Van Mildert College, Chinese, 1982 For services to Education

Ms Susan E Kruse MBE  Graduate Society, Archaeology, 1978 For services to Community Archaeology in the Highlands of Scotland

Mrs Stefa J McManners MBE  Graduate Society, Education, 1981 For services to the community in County Durham

Dr Trevor L Ogden OBE  Hatfield College, Physics, 1964 For services to Occupational Hygiene and workplace Air Quality

Mr Q J K Phillips CMG Van Mildert College, Geography, 1985 For services to British Foreign Policy

Miss Gail Porter BEM  Management Competence Development, 1990 For services to troubled families in Liverpool

Mr William R Sergeant MBE QPM  St Cuthbert's Society, German, 1961 For voluntary service to ex-Service Personnel and to First World War Remembrance

Mrs Elizabeth J Tappenden MBE Entrepreneurship, 2001 For services to Small Business Start-ups and Women in Business in the Isle of Wight

Joyce Taylor BEM College of St Hild & St Bede, 1953 For services to Durham Cathedral

Mr A Edward Timpson CBE  Hatfield College, Politics, 1996 For public and parliamentary services

Dr Jennifer M Walsh MBE Van Mildert College, Physics, 1986 For services to Transmissions Research and Development

Development and Alumni Relations Office
The Palatine Centre
Stockton Road

0191 334 6305

The full team is currently working out of the office due to Covid-19. We always love to hear from you but it may take us a little longer than usual to respond - especially by mail or telephone. Thank you for bearing with us. Please do get in touch with us online for anything time-sensitive at alumni.office@durham.ac.uk