Book Club: The Sweetness of Venus: A History of the Clitoris
Wednesday April, 21st
Time: 6pm EDT, 5pm CDT, 4pm MDT, 3pm PDT


We are excited and honored to invite you to the first Durham Inspired: Live In Lockdown US Book Club event, featuring author Sarah Chadwick (Arts Combined, Collingwood College, 1984-87) in conversation with Griff Fairbairn (Arts Combined, St Mary's College, 1984-87) about her new book The Sweetness of Venus: A History of the Clitoris.

The book unravels the fascinating and troubled history of attitudes to female sexuality. It is not a how-to manual, and there are no photographic images. It is a surprising, funny straight-talking narrative about Western Culture and its anxiety over even naming this surprising part of the anatomy. For millennia scientists thought that women were inside-out versions of men, and anxiety about female sexuality generated ludicrous ideas and perpetuated inaccurate information. The book will have you laughing out loud and everyone who reads it comes away wiser and wondering why they may have baulked at the title initially. So, if you have one, have the opportunity to engage with one or are responsible for someone with one, then please join us for this revealing and thought-provoking discussion.

Guests are encouraged to read Sarah’s book prior to the event so they can participate and ask questions.

Event Selection
Durham Inspired: Live In Lockdown US Book Club event, featuring author Sarah Chadwick (Collingwood '87) in conversation with Griff Fairbairn (Trevs '87) about her new book The Sweetness of Venus: A History of the Clitoris.
21 April 2021 at 23:00

Meet the team
Gift Policy
Donor Recognition Policy
Dunelm Support

TLS Update -
Please ensure that your OS and browser are updated for your security. More info
Development and Alumni Relations Office
The Palatine Centre
Stockton Road
Durham
DH1 3LE

0191 334 6305
alumni.office@durham.ac.uk

The full team is currently working out of the office due to Covid-19. We always love to hear from you but it may take us a little longer than usual to respond - especially by mail or telephone. Thank you for bearing with us. Please do get in touch with us online for anything time-sensitive at alumni.office@durham.ac.uk