Queen's Birthday Honours 2018

The following alumni have been honoured in the Queen's Birthday Honours for 2018.

Mr Iain W Armitage (Economics, St John's College, 1991-94) MBE for services to the community and Supporting Families with Life-Limiting Illnesses.

Miss Sarah Bartholomew (History, Grey College, 2003-06) OBE for services to British foreign policy and the Commonwealth.

Dr Roland A Chadwick (Geophysics, Graduate Society, 1977-78) MBE for services to the Science of Carbon Capture and Sequestration.

Mr Brent Cheshire (Geology, St Cuthbert's Society, 1973-76) CBE for services to the Renewable Energy Sector.

Mrs Louise M Ellis (Natural Sciences, St Cuthbert's Society, 1997-2001) for services to British foreign policy and the Commonwealth.

Mr Ian W Jardine (Biological Sciences, Grey College, 1977-80) OBE for services to the Environment.

Mr A Mark Nileshwar (Engineering, Hatfield College, 1990-93) OBE for services to Military Capability.

Mr Richard C E Smith (History, Grey College, 1991-94) OBE for services to Military Heritage.

Mrs Sally J J Tennant (Politics, St Mary's College, 1974-77) OBE for services to Research into Miscarriages and Stillbirths.

Mr Huw V Thomas (History, Van Mildert College, 1967-70) CBE for services to Public Audit and Accountability in Wales.

Miss Jennifer N Willott MP (Classics, St Mary's College, 1993-96) OBE for political and public service.


Development and Alumni Relations Office
The Palatine Centre
Stockton Road

0191 334 6305

The full team is currently working out of the office due to Covid-19. We always love to hear from you but it may take us a little longer than usual to respond - especially by mail or telephone. Thank you for bearing with us. Please do get in touch with us online for anything time-sensitive at alumni.office@durham.ac.uk